Google adds more languages for the Translate app

Sharmaine Centeno
Sharmaine Centeno October 12, 2018
Updated 2022/04/14 at 10:59 AM

Google Translate released 13 more languages which are created for camera translations and to help more people to understand other languages.

According to VentureBeat, the Google Translate has an access to translate visually by using the camera on the user’s smartphone. The 13 languages include other languages in Asia such as Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, and Vietnamese. The Translate app also includes four of the top most spoken languages on Earth, which was reported by Babbel, such as Arabic, Bengali, Hindi, and Punjabi. The app has estimated about 50 languages. Google’s spokesperson added that an optical character recognition from company’s Cloud Vision API instruct new datasets for the new languages that has been added.

The updated Google Translate is available for both iOS and Android devices. The company confirmed that they will start rolling out the app globally in the coming days.

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *